DIY Deodorant that actually works + life update

So…. time to own up to the fact that my last written blog was 2 months ago!!! Fail! If there’s one thing I know about blogging it’s: frequency and consistency are a must!

Whoops!

Life got in the way.

Forgive me?

More on that later – first I must explain this crazy simple-yet-effective homemade deodorant recipe – 3 main ingredients that takes less than 5 minutes to whip up.


Making my own deodorant was actually never something I was super passionate about trying, but the (awesomely amazing) deodorant that Mr. Kisses and I use is just so damn expensive. Mine lasts me a long time, but Mr. Kisses goes through it like water. And at roughly $11-$12/jar, 1-2 jars/month, it was really starting to add up!

Through the years we’ve tried many different natural deodorants. When we met, I was using the crystal rock!

And was pretty much super smelly, all the time..

Luckily I was turned on to Pit Paste a few years ago by a family friend – once I tried it, I found it was the first natural deodorant that really truly worked.

IMG_0407

Both Mr. Kisses and I are pretty smelly people (…I really can’t believe that certain people just don’t smell bad when they sweat – it seems unfair, but I actually know a few of these rare breed… So Unfair!), so to have found a deodorant – natural to boot! – that actually keeps the smells away was quite the relief.

(No, Pit Paste has not sponsored this blog post).

But as I said, at the rate Mr. Kisses goes through it, I thought why not just try to make our own…

I surfed the web and pieced together a few different recipes and came up with this concoction:

  • 1/4 cup baking soda
  • 1/4 cup arrowroot powder or cornstarch (ideally organic)
  • 5-6 tablespoons organic coconut oil
  • 10-15 drops organic tea tree oil
  • other essential oils of choice for fragrance

IMG_0409.JPEG

So really – how much more simple can this get?

3 main ingredients – baking soda, cornstarch, and coconut oil. The essential oils really are optional. This took me less than 5 minutes to throw together. I poured the finish product into 2 two ounce leftover pit paste jars I had around but any glass jar will do (recipe yields 4 oz).

IMG_0410.JPEG

IMG_0411.JPEG

The consistency will change depending on the temperature of the room that you keep it in – the warmer, the more liquidy, the colder the more solid.

I couldn’t wait to test it out. I applied it just like I do Pit Paste – I dipped my finger in and rubbed a pea-sized amount all around my armpit. Between the coconut scent from the oil, along with the lemon and lavender essential oils I used, it smelled just divine! I liked the scent I created even better than the Pit Paste scents (which are pretty awesome).

As far as effectivity – this stuff works just as well as Pit Paste for me. It keeps my smells at bay – and for a fraction of the cost!

I highly, HIGHLY recommend taking a few minutes out from your day and making this super easy product! A huge success!


Now back to my 2-month-hiatus-explanation…

I had high hopes when I started this blog that I would blog consistently and frequently – as aforementioned – 2 things I know to be crucial to blogging. But … I’m a ftm (first time mom!), and it really is so hard to find the time to – BLOG.

I do, however, have time to post photos of what I am up to on Instagram and Facebook, and this is what I’ve been focusing on the past few weeks.

My plan moving forward is to blog when I can (such as today), and remain more consistent on Instagram and Facebook.

So there you have it – my honest update!

Thanks (….all 3 of you….!) for reading, and understanding! Follow me on instagram @morningkissesblog so you don’t miss out on any of my posts!

And go make that deodorant and tell me what you think!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

